Sarah Clair (maternity leave) dog training reviews

August 17 2017
a picture

As a first time puppy owner Sarah has supported me from the beginning with my very high energy pup. She is extremely knowledgeable and patient. I had numerous concerns and she was accessible when I reached out.

I highly recommend Sarah to anybody interested in training or obedience for their puppy or dog.

Lisa O - Okanagan, British Columbia

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/932

Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up

September 05 2016

We owe Sarah a massive thank you. Our 1.5 year old lab Yoda was adopted last November and we realized quickly that he lacked basic socializing skills. He would become way too excited around new people and forget his manners (e.g., vocalizing, jumping, play nipping). He was also very food motivated and often lacked respect. Sarah took her time and sat with us to gain a thorough understanding of our situation and our goals, all the while clearly explaining the essence of "dog language" and maintaining an optimistic attitude. I loved how she worked with Yoda through us (100% owner involvement) to teach him right from wrong. She was incredibly knowledgeable about dogs in every regard, and was more than happy to pass along literature pertaining to his allergies and diet. We were so proud when we hosted a party of 20 and Yoda was a perfect gentleman. His recall has since improved 100x, and he is so much more willing to listen out of respect rather than for food. This was only after one session. Sarah ensured that her program flowed seamlessly with other training methods we had already implemented, which was very respectful. Thank you from Yoda's family

Katherine - okanagan

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/892

September 05 2016

We recently adopted a rescue dog, who has a lovely disposition but was terrible on leash and never came when she was called. A total flight risk! One lesson with Sarah from Bark Busters and she was listening and being obedient and seemed like a different dog. It was amazing! I would highly recommend this service to anyone who is contemplating doing dog training. It is well worth the cost.

Megan - Okanagan

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/893

March 18 2014

Ed was fantastic.........the change in shado following the program has been incredible.  I have already told a few people that are interested and will not hesitate to recommend Ed to anyone that needs some help with their canine family member.

Colleen - West Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/739

March 18 2014

My dog showed improvements after the first meeting with the trainer.  He was thorough in his explanations and very encouraging towards my learning.  He answered all my questions and did not leave until I felt confident with all the information he had provided me with, and that is a lot!!!!

Margo - West Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/738

July 05 2013

Hi Ed,

Thank you so much for coming to our home and resolving the issues we had with our Bouvier Sadie. She no longer pulls me on the leash like she used to. It feels so good to be in control of her. When people come to the door I'm able to take control and stop her from barking at them. I don't think we would have been able to correct these problems through any other dog training program. I highly recommend Bark Busters and Ed Gariepy to anyone having issues with their dog in the Kelowna area. It is so nice to know that I can get support continually and it is guaranteed through her life.

Thanks,

Joan - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/655

February 02 2013

Ed, Time I sent you an update.

The cat that Tyson would chase has noticed the difference - LJ (the cat) now struts past Tyson without much notice and has begun to play more and has become the cat he used to be without the threat of Tyson giving chase. People at the front door are not greeted by a nosey Shar-pei and a yappy Chihuahua but by the host - me!

Thanks,

Henrietta (Vet Assistant)

Henrietta - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/631

February 02 2013

Hello Ed!

Just wanted to let you know how axel is doing! Well he is doing just awesome! Lol! He has been very good at home too when I leave! Thanks for the new exercises for him! We are doing them everyday!

Thanks,

Jessica

Jessica - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/630

February 02 2013

I thought I would give you a quick update on our progress.  I am so proud of our dog Kassy she has caught on so quickly! As a matter of fact with the back leash training the one time she did walk forward as soon as I slowed down to stop she backed up in line with my legs in perfect heal position and looked at me before I even had a chance to blink never mind start walking again lol. The wedding march she is spot on, same with the attentiveness training. The only thing I had to really correct her on was if she got distracted by Axel. She is such a gem and so smart we love her to pieces!!

Thank you Ed,  You are a great instructor we appreciate your guidance!

Colleen - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/629

December 05 2012

Hi Ed,

Thank you for your follow up phone call today. It is so nice to know I can bend your ear and solicit advice whenever I need to. Having said that, things are going so well with Jorja, I think you may have worked yourself out of a job :)

We are really putting into practice all the things you have taught us. In the five days since we met, I have seen my little princess go from an anxious dog who believed she was responsible for protecting me to a much more relaxed dog who now trusts that I "have her back".

As a work in progress I know I have to control the home front first. I have to be alert to Jorja and any signs that she is entering the orange zone. I am getting better and better with practice. Walks have become less of a chore and more of a pleasant outing.

I have even noticed the changes at work. The courier came and went yesterday and Jorja didn't even bark! We went on an off leash walk around the track and came face-to-face with two deer and with one "Bah" Jorja stopped barking and did not chase after the deer as they fled the scene. Incredible!

I promise to continue to participate in the program we developed together 100%. I promise to forgive myself when I make mistakes or fall back into old patterns. I promise Jorja that I will be her leader and she can relax.

My biggest fear when I hired you through Bark Busters was that I would not be able to cuddle and pamper my dog any more. You have shown me I can, I just have to be in control of if and when this happens.

Thank you seems so small for everything you have done for Jorja and our family. Thank you anyway.

Diane P. - Penticton, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/591

December 05 2012

Hi Ed,

I was at my wits end when I called Ed with Bark Busters. My dog was full of anxiety, pulling when going for walks and barking at any dog that came near; I'm sure the neighbours were tired of her relentless yipping. After one session with Ed we saw a dramatic change in our dog. Now I am checking the backyard to make sure that she is there! Utilizing what we learned through Bark Busters, I can see from her body language that she is less anxious and overall a much happier dog! That makes us much happier owners!! We still have work to do but I am motivated by the dramatic changes we have seen in such a short time!

Thanks Ed,

Kristina B. - Salmon Arm, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/604

December 05 2012

I'm so glad I made the decision to call you. Right away I knew that I was working with the right trainer for both Roxy and I. Your delivery and method is clear and straightforward. Applying the techniques that I learned has made a big difference in the lives of all in our household. Most importantly our Roxy is far calmer and enjoying a higher quality of life.

I now know how to prevent and address problem behaviours giving me more confidence as a pet owner and pack leader. Learning how to communicate in a language my dog understands means we both get what we want and need.

I think about all the frustration and anxiety I could have prevented for both me and my dog had I called you sooner. But its never too late and there are techniques I can now apply in training our other dog too.

I always wanted to walk my dogs more than I did but their constant pulling was beyond aggravating. The 3 simple strategies you taught me have made my dream of peaceful daily walks a reality.

I made the decision to call Bark Busters over other advertised trainers because of a personal recommendation and because of the life long guarantee they offer. It gave me security in making the investment. This is an investment that has paid dividends immediately for Roxy and my family and will no doubt continue to do so for many enjoyable years to come.

If having a calmer, more balanced and content dog is important to you, I urge you to give Ed a call...you won't regret it.

I am recommending Ed and Bark Busters to everyone I know and everyone I meet.

Thanks Ed!

Kimberly B. - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/608

December 05 2012

Hi Ed,

I wanted to write you to give you a quick update on Chloe, and to express my gratitude and sincere appreciation for all of your help.  It has been only seven days since you came to our house to work with us, and yet it is like we have a different dog already!   Chloe has not been barking at everyone who goes by the window, she is not following us around the house as much or jumping up for attention.  On walks, she is looking to us for cues to stop and go to the bathroom, and she doesn’t even pay attention to the dogs that are barking from their yard as we walk by!  She was out in the front yard with me the other day, and didn’t even bark at the neighbour! For Chloe, this is a huge change in behaviour.  As you know, she was constantly barking at every noise she heard both inside the house and around the yard. 

We know what to do now when she tries to get back some points, and we have learned how to spot her cues when she is thinking about misbehaving so we can catch it before it escalates.  With these tools in hand, we can catch her before anything really becomes a problem. 

I can’t thank you enough for giving us the tools to work with Chloe so she can be a better dog and we can be better owners!

Sincerely,

Candy & Caelum W.

Candy W. - Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/609

December 05 2012

Hi Ed:

Thank you so much for visiting our home to help us with the many concerns we’ve had with our Rhodesian Ridgeback, Tazzie. Our issues with how he treats anyone who comes to the door have been so severe that I didn’t think it was possible to resolve them. He has been so aggressive and overwhelming to visitors that we had reached the point where we dreaded having to answer our door. We honestly felt like our dog was making us a prisoner in our own home.

I simply can’t believe what a difference a single visit has made. Your explanations on what so many of Tazzies little actions like bumping us with his nose, nudging us, pushing against us meant have really given us a much clearer insight into just how much he was controlling what happened within our house. We had never thought to put those actions down to being a passive-aggressive way to score points against us. It really helps to have a better understanding of how to read our dog’s body language so that we can stop a situation before it begins.

I think the daily lesson plans will really help us in teaching him that we are the pack leaders in our house.

Shortly after you left, the pizza man arrived with our meal. The minute the doorbell rang, Tazzie went bolting down the stairs to aggressively bark at the door. I put myself between the door and Taz, faced him full chest forward and standing tall, made the Bah sound and clapped my hands sharply together. He immediately retreated and headed out of the foyer and did not return. I was able to open the door and stand talking to the pizza man with the door wide open without Taz barking or lunging at him. We haven’t been able to do that in nearly 2 years. 

I’m looking forward to seeing how much more progress we can make heading forward once we spend some time each day working with Taz on his homework. I finally feel like there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Thanks so much Ed and Bark Busters.

Joanne S. - West Kelowna, BC

Permalink: www.barkbusters.ca/dog-training-review/610

We can help you with

  • Leash Training
  • Barking
  • Puppy Training
  • Separation Anxiety
  • Aggressive Behaviour
  • Jumping
  • General Obedience
  • And more...